Born A Crime

Today I will travel to South Africa, to present a childhood autobiography of a mixed colored boy in the last years of Apartheid. “Born a crime” because his Xhosa mother had a child with a Swiss-German man, which was illegal at the time. “The fact that I grew up in a world run by women was…

Today I will travel to South Africa, to present a childhood autobiography of a mixed colored boy in the last years of Apartheid.

“Born a crime” because his Xhosa mother had a child with a Swiss-German man, which was illegal at the time. “The fact that I grew up in a world run by women was no accident,” Noah writes. “Apartheid kept me away from my father because he was white, but for almost all the kids I knew in my grandmother’s neighbourhood in Soweto, apartheid had taken away their fathers as well, just for different reasons.”

It was a reading suggestion from Bill Gates through his personal blog. Elected by him one of the books of the year in 2016. And I fully agree is a passionate story of a child and a teenager in a crazy world, of racism, bullying, crime and domestic violence.

Against all odds Trevor became a man of success, being known as a comedian and host of the Daily Show with Trevor Noah.

51wOVpPbfgL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com